(DEUTSCH)

Lectures

Florian MehnertDATA TO LIGHT © Florian Mehnert

The Metaverse, the Future of the Internet

The transformation of the ubiquitous Internet into an n - parallel real-time simulation

The Internet has become far more than a constantly available reference tool. We trade, shop, communicate, work, and have fun over it. The idea of an ubiquitous Internet running in the background became a reality long ago. Where is the Internet and the digitization of our everyday lives headed? There is already an impressive vision of what tomorrow's Internet will be for us, and the seeds are being sown for it today. What is behind the concept of the metaverse? Why is the development strongly driven by the gaming industry, among others. What does the Metaverse have to do with the Minecraft, Fortnite or Roblox platforms? What profound changes does the Metaverse mean for society, for every individual, for the job market and for the world we live in?
Florian Mehnert creates in his lecture a deep, yet understandable insight into the near future visions of the digital industry.

Lecture duration: about 50-60 minutes with numerous graphics

.

Florian Mehnert

The day seminar "Dataism" versus freedom

scalable seminar

The seminar illuminates the background, the emergence and the current strategies of the so-called surveillance capitalism. It begins with the emergence of the Internet and leads vividly, profoundly through the complex backgrounds and strategies of the Monetariierierug our data, to the deep conflicts with the European guiding principles. The seminar has a popular scientific structure. It is framed by interactive artistic elements that directly involve the participant in a co-creative process. The goal of the seminar is to give the participants a deep insight and a differentiated view. It is not about offering a certain attitude or a solution. The seminar develops the background knowledge for differentiated new own approaches of its participants.

Seminar duration: scalable from 4-6 hours with extensive graphics and interactive elements

Florian MehnertFlorian Mehnert Barcelona Disseny Hub © Carolina Sainz

"Dataism" versus Freedom

The Algorithmization of our Life

Algorithmic systems create new insights, new economic Structures and new forms of social communication. Do we really get to more knowledge and information through BIG DATA Analytics ? Or does the effort to bring the world under control leads to alienation and to the end of our freedom?

Length of lecture: approx. 50-60 minutes with numerous graphics

Florian Mehnert© 2020 Florian Mehnert

The one-day seminar "Dataism" versus Freedom

4 - 6 hours seminar

The seminar will examine the background, the emergence and the current strategies of so-called surveillance capitalism. It begins with the emergence of the Internet and leads vividly and deeply through the complex backgrounds and procedures of the monetarization of our data, up to the deep conflicts with the European guiding principles. The seminar has a popular scientific structure and works with interactive artistic elements that involve the participant directly in the process. The aim of the seminar is to give the participants a deep insight and a differentiated view. The seminar develops the background knowledge for differentiated new own approaches of the participants. It is not about offering a certain attitude or a solution.

Duration of seminar: scalable from 4-6 hours with extensive graphics and interactive elements

Florian Mehnert© 2020 Florian Mehnert

BIG DATA and the algorithmic human

The confrontation with an increasingly networked world, the digitalisation of our lives and the tension between our private lives is a central theme of social development. Google knows our diseases and our next holiday destination. WhatsApp knows who we're communicating with. Youtube knows which videos we watch and Instagram knows our posted life. The smart speaker listens into our bedroom and Facebook knows us better than our friends. The BIG DATA system registers our life in all its ramifications. The BIG DATA questions the principles of self-determination over psychological and social life, as well as our understanding of the political system.
Florian Mehnert explains in his lecture the basics and the basic idea of BIG DATA. He shows that the future has long since begun and that we are in the midst of a world of "datatism" from which there is no return back.

Length of lecture: approx. 50-60 minutes with numerous graphics

Florian Mehnertart project FREEDOM 2.0¨

The participatory art installation FREEDOM 2.0

The participatory art installation FREIHEIT 2.0 was realized as a tri-national project in three countries and four cities (Weil am Rhein, Basel, Huningue, Stuttgart). Colored lines crossed the streets and sidewalks of the city center. The project's own app recorded movement profiles. For weeks, the art installation was supported by the BIG DATA COLLOQUIES with speakers from the fields of media theory, computer science, data protection, economics and philosophy. Florian Mehnert explains the background, processes and experiences to his art installation FREEDOM 2.0.

Lecture duration: about 45-60 minutes with numerous images of the installation

.
Florian MehnertWebcam view of 11 DAYS © 2020 Florian Mehnert

The art experiment "11 DAYS"


11 days the white laboratory rat in the art installation should be threatened by a weapon triggerable live via the Internet The world watched the white rat in the art installation by Florian Mehnert in a furious manner via lifestream. There was a violent shitstorm and threats of death.
The art experiment 11 DAYS went around the world.
But what was it really about? Was the work misunderstood? What were the intention of "11TAGE"? What happened in the background? Why was the experiment finished on the sixth day? The lecture looks at the reactions and backgrounds of the art experiment 11 DAYS.

in an exciting and comprehensive way. Length of lecture: approx. 60 minutes with detailed information graphics, videos and pictures

Florian MehnertNRW Forum Düsseldorf

Political art, provocation and effect

From forest protocols to FREEDOM 2.0

Can political art make a difference and influence society? Florian Mehnert explains using the example of his well-known art projects "Forest Protocols, Human Tracks, 11 Days and FREIHEIT 2.0". the background of his work and his view of political art and its effects.

Length of lecture: 50-60 minutes with many illustrations

(ENGLISH)

Vortrag / Lectures

Florian MehnertDATA TO LIGHT © Florian Mehnert

Das Metaverse, die Zukunft des Internet

Die Transformation des ubiquitären Internet in eine n - parallele Echtzeit Simulation

Das Internet ist weit mehr als ein ständig verfügbares Nachschlagewerk geworden. Wir handeln, kaufen ein, kommunizieren, arbeiten und vergnügen uns darüber. Die Idee eines allgegenwärtigen im Hintergrund laufenden Internet ist längst Realität. Wohin entwickelt sich das Internet und die Digitalisierung unseres Alltags? Es existiert bereits eine eindrucksvolle Vision dessen, was für uns das Internet von morgen sein wird und die Grundsteine dafür werden heute gelegt. Was steckt hinter dem Konzept des Metaverse? Warum wird die Entwicklung unter anderem auch stark von der Gamingindustrie angetrieben. Was hat das Metaverse mit den Plattformen Minecraft, Fortnite oder Roblox zu tun? Welche tiefgreifenden Veränderungen bedeutet das Metaverse für die Gesellschaft, jeden Einzelnen, den Arbeitsmarkt und für die Welt in der wir leben?
Florian Mehnert schafft in seinem Vortrag einen tiefen, dabei verständlichen Einblick in die nahen Zukunftsvisionen der digitalen Industrie.

Vortragsdauer: ca. 50-60 Minuten mit zahlreichen Grafiken



Florian Mehnert

Das Tagesseminar „Dataismus" versus Freiheit

skalierbares Seminar

Das Seminar beleuchtet die Hintergründe, die Entstehung und die aktuellen Strategien des sog. Überwachungskapitalismus. Es beginnt mit der Entstehung des Internet und führt anschaulich, tiefgreifend durch die komplexen Hintergründe und Strategien der Monetarisierug unserer Daten, bis hin zu den tiefen Konflikten mit den europäischen Leitgedanken. Das Seminar ist populär wissenschaftlich aufgebaut. Es wird von interaktiven künstlerischen Elementen umrahmt, die den Teilnehmer direkt in einen mitgestaltenden Prozess einbeziehen. Zielsetzung des Seminar ist es den Teilnehmern einen tiefen Einblick und eine differenzierte Sicht zu vermitteln. Es geht nicht darum, eine bestimmte Einstellung oder eine Lösung anzubieten. Das Seminar erarbeitet das Hintergrundwissen für differenzierte neue eigene Denkansätze seiner Teilnehmer.

Seminardauer: skalierbar von 4-6 Stunden mit umfangreichen Grafiken und interaktiven Elementen

Florian MehnertFlorian Mehnert Barcelona Disseny Hub © Carolina Sainz

„Dataismus" versus Freiheit

Die Algorithmisierung unseres Lebens

Algorithmische Systeme schaffen neue Erkenntnisse, neue ökonomische Strukturen und neue Formen der gesellschaftlicher Kommunikation. Gelangen wir durch BIG DATA Analytics wirklich zu mehr Wissen und Erkenntnis? Oder führt das Bestreben die Welt unter Kontrolle zu bringen zur Entfremdung und zum Ende unserer Freiheit?

Vortragsdauer: ca. 50-60 Minuten mit zahlreichen Grafiken


Florian Mehnert© 2020 Florian Mehnert

BIG DATA und der algorithmische Mensch

Die Auseinandersetzung mit einer immer mehr vernetzten Welt, der Digitalisierung unseres Lebens und dem Spannungsverhältnis zu unserer Privatsphäre ist ein zentrales Thema der gesellschaftlichen Entwicklung. Google kennt unsere Krankheiten und unser nächstes Urlaubsziel. WhatsApp weiß, mit wem wir kommunizieren. Youtube weiß, welche Videos wir betrachten und Instagram kennt unser gepostetes Leben. Der smarte Speaker horchen in unser Schlafzimmer und Facebook kennt uns besser als unsere Freunde. Das System BIG DATA registriert unser Leben in allen seinen Verästelungen. Die BIG DATA stellt die Prinzipien der Selbstbestimmung über psychisches und soziales Leben in Frage, ebenso unser Verständnis vom politischen System.
Florian Mehnert erläutert in seinem Vortrag die Grundlagen und die Grundidee der BIG DATA. Er zeigt auf, dass die Zukunft längst begonnen hat und wir uns inmitten einer Welt des "Datatismus" befinden, aus der es kein Zurück mehr gibt.

Vortragsdauer: ca. 50-60 Minuten mit zahlreichen Grafiken

Florian MehnertKunstprojekt FREIHEIT 2.0¨

Die partizipative Kunstinstallation FREIHEIT 2.0

Die partizipative Kunstinstallation FREIHEIT 2.0 wurde als tri-nationales Projekt in drei Ländern und vier Städten (Weil am Rhein, Basel, Huningue, Stuttgart) realisiert. Farbige Linien durchzogen die Strassen und Bürgsrteige der Innenstadt. Die projekteigene App zeichnete Bewegegungsprofile auf. Über Wochen hinweg wurde die Kunstinstallation durch die BIG DATA KOLLOQUIEN mit Referenten aus den Fachgebieten Medientheorie, Informatik, Datenschutz, Wirtschaft und Philosophie begleitet. Florian Mehnert erläutert die Hintergründe, Abläufe und Erfahrungen zu seiner Kunstinstallation FREIHEIT 2.0.

Vortragsdauer: ca. 45-60 Minuten mit zahlreichen Bildern der Installation

Florian Mehnertsteuerbare Waffe mit Webcam © 2020 Florian Mehnert

Das Kunstexperiment „11 TAGE“


11 Tage sollte die weiße Laborratte in der Kunstinstallation bedroht durch eine über das Internet auslösbare Waffe leben. Aufgebracht beobachtete die Netzwelt über lifestream die weiße Ratte in der Kunstinstallation von Florian Mehnert. Es gab einen heftigen Shitstorm und Mordrohungen.
Das Kunstexperiment 11 TAGE ging um die Welt.
Doch worum ging es wirklich? Wurde das Werk missverstanden? Was waren die Beweggründe von "11TAGE"? Was passierte im Hintergrund? Warum wurde das Experiment am sechsten Tag beendet? Der Vortrag betrachtet spannend und umfassend, die Reaktionen und Hintergründe des Kunstexperiments 11TAGE.

Vortragsdauer: ca. 60 Minuten mit detailierten Infografiken, Videos und Bildern

Florian MehnertNRW Forum Düsseldorf

Politische Kunst, Provokation und Wirkung

Von den Waldprotokollen bis FREIHEIT 2.0

Kann politische Kunst etwas bewirken und Einfluß auf die Gesellschaft nehmen? Florian Mehnert erläutert am Beispiel seiner bekannten Kunstprojekte "Waldprotokolle, Menschentracks, 11Tage und FREIHEIT 2.0" den Hintergrund seiner Arbeit und seine Sicht auf die politische Kunst und ihre Wirkung.

Vortragsdauer: 50-60 Minuten mit vielen Abbildungen